Musing Film

22 Mar

So, it seems I recently claimed to be starting with music.
So, it seems I recently realized I still need more time to work on that one.
So, it seems I’ll be switching gears for a moment.
So, it seems we’re starting with film.

—-

INT. PARAMOUNT THEATRE – NIGHT

The end of the night is nearing. TOM HANKS walks up to the front of the Oscar Stage carrying an envelope.

TOM HANKS
The last time ten films were nominated for best
picture was 1943. The world was at war and
Casablanca took home the big prize. It’s now
time to find out which one of this year’s ten
great films joins the list that includes that Bogart
and Bergman classic.

TOMMY continues as opens the envelope and pulls a card out .

TOM HANKS
And the winner is…

Suddenly the screen changes to a primarily blue screen with cream coloured menus around the outside with the words “Satellite Signal Error” standing out clear to everyone in the audience. A young lady jumps up from the front of the theatre and bolts to the back. The audience is filling the theatre with groans, complaints, and laughter. After about 25 seconds, the video feed returns and we see a wide shot of TOM shaking hands with KATHRYN BIGELOW while a mixture of the most recognizable members from the production of The Hurt Locker join them on stage.

FADE OUT
(not really, but for the sake
of this blog)

—-

The Hurt Locker takes the Oscar for Best Picture.

Having only seen two of the ten nominated films (of which The Hurt Locker was neither) it was difficult for me to determine whether I felt they deserved the win or not.

Avatar (which I had seen) has become the highest grossing film of all time (regardless as to whether or not inflation is taken into account) bringing in more than $2.6 billion worldwide in 3 months (compared to about $1.5 billion “adjusted for inflation” by the infamous, and previously unbeatable, Gone With the Wind). All opinions aside, that’s got to say something.

Up (the other of the two movies I had seen) was a great movie on Disney/Pixar’s part, but I really don’t think it had any real chance of winning best picture. Best animated picture, sure; but best picture in general… I really didn’t think so.

It’s been a couple weeks since the Oscars, and ’twas only last night that I finally saw The Hurt Locker. It was definitely a very good movie. At least in my opinion. Politics aside, previous opinions of cast and crew aside, and opinions on movie categories as a whole aside, it was definitely a good movie. Understandably nominated for best picture. Understandably nominated, but should it have one?

It’s not hard to see the politics of why it won. The movie doesn’t show war as a good thing. It leans towards the addictive side of war-based adrenaline. It hints at the pointlessness of the war, without saying that everyone involved is an idiot. It has interesting characters portrayed with great acting. And it was an entertaining movie for sure.

Everyone is entitled to there own opinion… mine is that, politics aside, The Hurt Locker was a better movie to claim the oscar than Avatar.

Nothing against Avatar. I think it was a great movie. Even one of my favourites (top 20, not top 5 – two groupings which The Hurt Locker will not enter). Even then, I wish I had seen it before a billion other people, so I would have had plenty of time to establish my thoughts from scratch, rather than hearing the opinions of a hundred others before I actually saw it for the first time. I think I might have even liked it more then. Though the first time I saw the film was in the old-fashion 2-dimentional version, seeing it in 3D later did little to suddenly shoot it up to “Best.Movie.Evar!” status which I was promised. It was a good movie though. Some of the basic story line did remind me of Disney’s Pocahontas… but honestly, there was plenty that differentiated the two (not including “space”).

So, seven movies to go. Then I will release my final thoughts on the matter.

Until we meet again, have a better than average day.

7 Responses to “Musing Film”

  1. Amy March 24, 2010 at 11:53 am #

    All I want to say is I started to watch this same movie you speak and ended up disinterested within the first 30 mins… Maybe I’m not a fan of Tim’s but I really didn’t find myself lost in his world enough to stay and finish it.

    🙂

    • Zach March 24, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

      My question to you is, did you watch those first 30 minutes in a theatre or online?

      • Amy March 24, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

        Are you referring to the quality of the picture or the integrity of the viewer?

      • Zach March 24, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

        Quality of the picture (picture being used as a synonym for movie).
        Only because I know you.
        And in my relatively humble opinion, there’s a big difference between a forty-foot high-definition screen with rich surround sound, and 4 1/4 inches of flickery pixelated mostly-color that was likely videotaped in Japan and is now being blasted through 3/4-inch speakers on your laptop.
        Even the difference between a DVD and tvduck.net is significant.
        I bet you’d have found the film at least interesting enough to watch the whole thing had you watched it the way it was intended to be watched.

  2. Amy Murray March 25, 2010 at 10:11 am #

    Well, then.

    Indeed. I thought of going to the movie box but decided against it. I had heard some very mixed reviews on the movie and I’m convinced I made the right choice… I’m not sure I’d actually spend money on this one. If you could do it all over again, would you not go see this one? Would you rent it instead? I’m just curious.

    A

  3. Amy Murray March 26, 2010 at 11:12 am #

    You “bet”…. that’s the difference between us. You see I don’t bet suckers, I usually buy them at the local corner store.

    Done.

    • Zach March 26, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

      Well thanks.
      I don’t know if you realize, but it is by grace that your comments are approved. I see it first before it goes live… all it would take is a slight shift left of the mouse to go from “approve” to “reject” before I click.
      All that to say, please keep your comments relevant to the argument.

Leave a Reply

